View Single Post
Old 04-09-2006, 06:35 PM   #1
linz06
Donating YT 500 Club Member

Default Ahhh! I need to vent

So my best friend is coming down to visit me for a week next month. We met when we were 6 years old and we grew up in the same small town and were like sisters, and still are. She now lives 8 hours away from me. So anyways, we're both really excited about it since I haven't seen her since Christmas, and we've decided we're going to get piercings together when she comes. I've got my ears and bellybutton pierced plus a tattoo on my back, and I don't want anything too noticeable and out there because I'm an engineering student and I do have to be able to look professional, and cover up what I do have. So I've decided to get my tongue pierced! With my friends who have it done, I don't even notice it unless they decide to show it, so it'll be just something I know is there. Plus if I don't like it, I can always take it out.
Tonight while I was studying, my mom called me. I have never ever been close to my mom, or anyone in my family for that matter. But I really needed a study break so I was trying to make our conversation last a little longer, and I mentioned the piercing. She freaked out. She said I better not let people back home see that, and I can't let my grandma see it, and I can't let my brother know about it, or he'll tell my grandma... and I actually started to think maybe I shouldn't do it. She said it looks awful, I'll wreck my teeth, blah blah blah... but I told her, "If I have problems, if I don't like it, I can take it out." And it's my life, right? I'm almost 22, and I still usually let my parents dictate everything to me.