Thread: Fired
View Single Post
Old 10-14-2005, 04:37 PM   #10
orinskye
YT 2000 Club Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by troubletb
I work in a school now as the principal's secretary. We have many (what we call) ESE classes. (Exceptional Student Education) It is very unfortunate that they pulled you and I know you are 100% right about the children getting into and staying in a routine. But our district office insists that if we have an opening, it is better to fill it with a certified teacher than someone who has a bond with these children. It is sad to think that these students will be very lost for a long time after you had to leave them. Maybe you can ask if you can work with the new teacher for a few weeks, so the students can get use to her.
It isnt a teaching position....... i was an instructional assistant, i agree that they probably thought it was better to fill the position with a permanant person, but as far as certification goes..... she has NO qualifications... she has no ECE units, she has never worked in a school.... i am certified to be a pre-k Teacher (not just an instructional assistant) but i am going for my regular elementary education credential..... so in terms of qualifications, i have way more than she does, BUT, she can have the permanant status and i cant (even though i could stay there permanantly since i dont have anything to do in the morning).....