View Single Post
Old 06-21-2007, 10:18 PM   #50
sadiesamie
YT 500 Club Member

Default this is the food they were on that i am in the process of taking them off of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MyFairLacy View Post
You said she has allergies, and the scooting could be from those. I really think you should switch her food. I know a lot of vets recommend foods made by Hill's and Purina but honestly none of those foods are any good, even the prescription ones. I'm starting vet school in the fall so I feel like it's okay to say that I think most vets don't know much about nutrition. These big companies give vets a lot of free products and donate a lot of money to the vet assocation and even do most of the nutrition teaching in school. But with all I have learned about dog foods, I would never feed my dog anything made by purina or hills or any other company like that (and by being a vet student I can get hills and purina foods 80% off). If you really want to feed kibble or canned, go with a premium brand like Wellness, Innova, Natural Balance, Canidae, Merrick, Nature's Variety, etch (there are other good ones out there). A step above that would be home cooking (but make sure you get all the nutrients your dog needs in it) I think the best thing is a raw diet. I feed Nature's Variety in venison and rabbit. Raw diets are grain free. A lot of dogs are allergic to corn, wheat, and other grains (esp. corn). A food with a lot of cornmeal in it is so bad for your dog. It's just a filler and cheap source of energy. I really think your dog is probably allergic to the food you're feeding her. I would really look into something higher quality.