View Single Post
Old 12-28-2006, 04:42 PM   #14
nvnvgirl
Lovin' to the MAX!!

I'm far from an expert in this, but I've had some experience, for sure.
Not long after we first got Max....I'm trying to think how old he was when we first took our 8-9 hour drive.....but suffice it to say, he was a puppy....I'd say he was around 9 mos old...he was perfectly fine with the trip..he slept between me and dh the whole way..it was amazing. Fast forward to a few months later....he started shaking and freaking out when we went ANYWHERE in the car...I thought it was b/c of my dh's penchant for complaining and bitching constantly when he's in the car....but it seems like Max just has gotten to that "age", where they are afraid of the noises and everything else associated with the car. He shakes on short trips to restaurants, the vets...no matter where....he starts shaking as soon as he gets into the car. He's fine once you get to where you're going...and he's fine on the way back..which is kind of odd.
But let me tell you...we just had to drive 9-10 hours for Christmas....what a nightmare. Max shook, panted, and whined from the time we got into the car til we got to where we were going. We stopped several times to let him out, and he was fine out of the car...once back in the car, the shaking and panting resumed.