View Single Post
Old 06-25-2006, 11:37 PM   #6
feminvstr
Donating YT 4000 Club Member

My reason for posting is I found it an interesting article simple as that ... did I agree with most of it? No! Did I agree with some of it of course.

For example the on going debate and possible legislation of the PAWS act. I personally spoke with AKC regarding this purposed legislation. I am not a proponent of the bill but I do better understand it (if it does pass) and the possible effect it may have on the small hobby breeder. Government enforcement has its place, the "millers door step" in the large breed for profit kennels, but for small hobby breeder I question their needed involvement. In their eyes its all about business and or in some instances public pressure.

I dont agree with mix breeds, nor breeding the flavor of the month, but every pet should have a home and every breeder should be held responsible for the health and well being of every pup they may produce, requiring a return/rehome agreement be signed with every placement or be an important part of their contract. Because society has become more involved in the welfare of animals there are more pet rescues, no kill shelters, not to mention responsible breeders doing their part in fostering and placement, but it is in my opinion if more breeders would adopt strict spay/neuter contracts no matter the breed the less likely others would entertain the thought of breeding their beloved pet.

Also Ms. Jade points out "our disposable society" which I couldnt agree more with yesterday, but I take issue with today. It is also my opinion todays life style has changed, public acceptance has broadened, the "PET BUSINESS" has become big business and with big business comes government involvement.