View Single Post
Old 02-20-2015, 01:18 PM   #7
broodizt
YT 500 Club Member

I cannot thank you enough for this information. When it comes to the liver and bronchitis I am clueless. I have plenty of experience with AAI,Xylitol, pneumonia, and GME, but not the liver or bronchitis, so you have been so very very helpful. I just cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post this information. Thank you Thank you Thank you

Love,

Shellie, Cassie and Milo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobstersmom View Post
Hepatitis In Dogs And Cats

This is a pretty basic link, just to give you some beginner info. Hepatitis is inflammation of the liver. It can be caused by many things, including medications, toxins, something that might have been in your dog's food, a cleaning product etc etc etc. There is also an "infectious hepatitis" which is transmitted animal to animal, but I doubt that's the one your dog has.

My yorkie had chronic hepatitis for 14 years, caused by a medication he took for a chronic fungal infection. It waxed and waned, sometimes was more active than other times. We managed his hepatitis with a drastic diet change, supplements, occasionally antibiotics. In his later years we also added ursodial. In spite of his liver disease, he did not look or act sick and led a good quality of life as long as I was careful about his diet and making sure he got the appropriate meds and supplements.

As far as the bronchitis, I suppose it could even be airborn -germs in the air. Could have started with pollens or some type of allergic reaction. How do humans get bronchitis, colds, viruses? This is just the season. Many dogs get bronchitis. It usually sounds much worse than it is, and with appropriate care, they usually recover fine. As far as the steroids, I am not a fan of them either but sometimes they are needed. My son has asthma. I always hated giving him prednisone, but once that inflammation gets going, sometimes its the only way to get things under control.