View Single Post
Old 01-21-2015, 03:39 PM   #1
griffy
Yorkie Talker

Default Meet Griffy! Aka my incredibly long introduction.

Hi! I'm happy to have found this forum. I'm not new to being a dog owner, but I am a bit new to owning a yorkie. I'm sure anyone who owns a yorkie can understand the difference! Haha.

I've owned a pekingese poodle mix (pekepoo) for 7 and a half years now. I got him (Chewbacca aka Chewie) when he was 5 months old, and he turns 8 in April. Chewie was kind of the absolutely perfect new dog owner dog. He learned quickly, but also had quite a bit of behavior problems that had to be corrected. I learned a ton from him!

Which brings me to my owning a yorkie. I grew up with a yorkie. From when I was 2 years old, until I was 17. I'd always wanted to get one of my own as an independent dog owner, but I chose Chewie first (or Chewie kind of chose me). I thought he would be a better fit for my lifestyle at the time. I was definitely right.

About a year ago, I decided that it was the right time to start looking for a second dog. I knew right away that I wanted a yorkie. I was working in a grooming shop, and everyone there had dubbed me "the yorkie lady" because of my affinity to that breed. They also knew I was on the lookout for anyone who wanted to find a new home for any yorkie that came in. After a few leads that didn't work out, a co-worker of mine was checking out a client and asked her if she wanted to set up her next grooming appointment. Turns out the client had been looking for a new home for her dog, but with no luck. My co-worker immediately gave her my number, and the next day I met her back at my grooming shop (we thought it was best to give him over at a place he was familiar at) and I brought him home that day!

Sorry for the extremely long explanation on how I got my little pup pup. I am just so incredibly grateful that everything worked out so amazingly well for me, his previous owner, and for my yorkie, Griffy.