View Single Post
Old 07-03-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
BiewerYorkie
Zachary's Mom
Donating Member

Love

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipopcorner View Post
So here I am new to YorkieTalk and new to yorkie ownership. Here's my story: I've always wanted a yorkie and begin my search for a young adult last week. After numerous crazy responses to my "wanted" ads, I became discouraged and decided now may not be the time to get one, afterall we will be moving soon. Then I got an e-mail Sunday with a phone number and short description. I successfully ignored it for a while, but it kept nagging at me so I finally called. Well, Gabby was a little older than I had wanted, but after a million questions and the owner sending pictures, I decided she might just be perfect. Oh and they didn't want a rehoming fee, just wanted a good home for her. I tried to convince myself we should just wait, but I couldn't shake that nagging feeling that she was the one (and my husband agreed). According to the owner she is healthy, calm, good with kids, etc. When I saw the pictures, I just knew. After an hour and a half drive yesterday, my 12 year old daughter and I met our new family member. Gabby stole our s from the moment we met her. After learning all we needed to know (including that she is actually older than we'd been told), we took our new into petsmart shopping. With our buggy loaded and a squirmy dog ,we heading to the checkout, we noticed lie #2. Gabby has a cateract. Much to my suprise, I wasn't upset, somewhat disappointed that I'd been lied to, but didn't even consider calling the lady back. GABBY IS MY BABY now. Fast Forward ... We got home with Gabby and introduced her to the rest of the family. Lie #3 discovered... She doesn't care much for kids and something I havent mentiioned is that my almost 5 year old is terrified of dogs. Since I have well behaved and gentle kids, I was never worried about them overwhelming Gabby, so I still wasn't discouraged. Let's shorten this story some...