View Single Post
Old 03-06-2012, 10:23 PM   #15
YorkieMiki
Senior Yorkie Talker

Quote:
Originally Posted by deonk1 View Post
I have a barker.. he is highly reactive to other dogs. originally it was only larger dogs, but now it's just any other dog. We train in agility and I think the atmosphere of other reactive dogs has started to wear off on him.

Here are some of the things I do, cause the above stuff didn't work for me either:

1- we go to a weekly tiny dog class that is put on my trainer. While at these classes while others are working on puppy training, (I've been training with her for 2 years) I work on more advanced stuff and then reward calm and quiet. For me walking away from the issue DOES NOT HELP. So during this class we noticed that if Harley is taken away from me (the mothership, or in your case fathership ) he quiets down. By being with me he gets more tense and wants me to "protect him" he calms down and has learned that if he wants to stay with momma, he has to be calm and quiet, and episodes while in this class and he is taken away from me until he is quiet. This class allows him to build confidence with dogs his size who cannot hurt him if they are rough or loud.