View Single Post
Old 01-22-2012, 09:17 PM   #22
Loving Furgie
Senior Yorkie Talker

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjc View Post
Yes, I believe they can suffer mentally from a lack of bonding.

I got my Peek A Boo from the Humane Society when he was 5 years old. He wasn't very friendly, though he did sit in my lap the first 3 days as he was scared to death. He had already been in 3 or 4 homes priur to mine. He wouldn't look at me, just kind of tolerated me. After 2 months, I was beginning to doubt my decision of getting, and seriously thought about returning him to the HS.

I had Yorkies before him and I know he was different, and his behavior seemed spiteful too. We had some housetraining issues, and I was just unhappy much of the time. Being a retired vet tech, I was quite embarrassed that I couldn't get through to him. I missed by 1st and 2nd Yorkies so badly though, I vowed to really give it my all and try again.

So I watched him closely, no more battles, let him out and took him for walks. Nothing changed. So I watched him some more. I noticed when I called his name, there was no response. When I called my kitties to come eat, he beat them into the kitchen. So I changed his name to 'Here, Kitty Kitty.' He would come when called, so I was happy. Back to watching... I finally decided he had more cat like behaviors, so I began treating him like a cat. He seemed happier that way.

He would go outside in the yard to pee, and come back in and poop in the house. So I would let him out, and then back in, and follow him around till he had to go, and let him back out again. This worked so we did it that way.

My vet said only feed him 1/2 can of food twice a day, to keep him at 5 pounds. He kept stealing cat food, and was fighting with my other dogs. I thought well, if he's hungry, he'll be grouchy, so I let him eat more. His aggressiveness began to go away.