View Single Post
Old 06-16-2011, 12:36 PM   #1
cdra
Senior Yorkie Talker

Default Not so happy about where my puppy came from :(

So, I've had my yorkie for 2 weeks now. I've had a few questions while I've had her and tried to contact the breeder and have discovered that she may not be as legitimate as I had hoped. Just to provide some background info, I've wanted a yorkie for years. I have researched the breed and read through the forums extensively. I was going to begin my search for the puppy very soon. My dear boyfriend who knew I wanted a puppy decided to take it upon himself to get me the puppy. Now I'm not being ungrateful in any way. The thing is that he is not as thorough/knowledgeable as I am in the selection process. That's not to say I'm an expert, but I have looked into it for a while and had a good idea of what I wanted. After all, this is a 15 year commitment.
So he takes me for a ride and we end up at some ladies house. She has the mommy yorkie there and hands me a puppy. She was already paid for and a refund was not possible at this point. I ask her a bunch of questions like how long has she been breeding and can I see the father and so forth. She had good responses for all my questions. This really was the point of no return so I took my puppy home. I took my puppy, Roxy, to the vet right away. The vet said she looked good. The only thing he noticed was that one k9 on the bottom was slightly going into her gums but he said this may correct itself when her grown up teeth come in. So far my only concern is loose stools but the vet said it's most likely due to switching her food from beniful to nature's variety instinct. She is very active, drinks and eats well and not dehydrated. The breeder was no help on this which was a red flag for me.