View Single Post
Old 05-14-2011, 06:46 PM   #7
enchilila
Donating YT 5000 Club Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by YorkieMom55 View Post
Hi there, I have been grooming my yorkies since 2000. My groomer mentored me when we got our 3rd and said it was time for me to learn to do it myself. I am not familiar with PPE but checked them out for you. I picked one Andis model (the pink one). Their retail price is $129.99 and the sale price is $75.60. I checked Amazon.com for you and the same model (pink Andis single-speed 12 pc) is $55.22 with Free Supersaver Shipping.

I have an Andis trimmer, an Oster and a Wahl full size, single speed. The Oster and Wahl are 11 & 8 yrs old and I'm replacing both of them this summer. I will probably shop through Amazon if I can't find one locally. The Wahl came from WalMart and I kept that one in my "to go" bag, to groom small dogs at our local animal shelter. It has cut alot of hair in 8 yrs.

It would be a good idea to get several pair of scissors for grooming. A good pair for blending, round curved tips for feet and face, round straight tips & thinning/texturizing blades work well for small matts & "pin" knots. A comb with swivel teeth works well also.
Hope this helps.
Thanks for doing a little leg-work for me. I have no idea which trimmer would be best. I probably couldn't go wrong with any of them. Might just run to Walmart and get the Wahl. I'll have to think fast as it is almost 10 p.m. here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by horsnaround View Post
I use a wahl that I got at walmart and it was not very much at all. I do my three yorkies myself and they have worked well. I did purchase a very nice pair of scissors from a groomer in town that have a blunt end to do around the eyes and ears. Be sure to take before and after pictures to share with us Good luck