View Single Post
Old 12-28-2010, 07:11 AM   #11
Brenda2349
Yorkie Talker

Hi.. I think I have finally gotten over the hump with Roxy with housebreaking! I used the crate for housebreaking and works everytime! (only ever had big dogs, seemed to take longer with Roxy) I got my puppy at 12 weeks and she used the crate for ALL her sleeping time, as soon as she wakes up..outside she goes..if she pees and poops outside she comes right back in and then we played then back outside and back to the crate for nap time. If she didn't potty we would walk around the yard to tire her back out then back in the crate..if she cried then I would take her back out again. Quite tedious but it works. It may seem cruel but she was only in there when she slept or if I had to go out. I am home all the time so it makes it easier. This is my first time owning a tiny dog but I treat her like my Golden.. but with cute sweaters and coats..lol! People that think that little dogs are prissy and don't like to go outside are very wrong..she loves rain, snow whatever comes.. she is such a mess! I would say 16 weeks and under a crate big enough for just a pad or newspaper and the bed is good. After 16 weeks she seemed to be able to hold it if I wasn't home for 3 hours or more.. because these dogs come in all sizes the length will be different for each. Make sure the spot is in an enclosed area just big enough for her bed and the pad. She will not want to potty in her nice soft bed but pee on the pad. (I saw they sell a reusable pad that looks like grass at bed,bath & beyond) If you want to stick with the pads as she gets older move the pad further away from her bed slowy. These pups are pretty darn smart so I found out! If she had an accident I did take her back to it and tell her bad.. WHY.. they say dont..BUT.. if she did potty somewhere.. she would not walk past it.. she new it was there..they say they forget and won't understand..not Miss Roxy, this was after the 16 week mark... once she realized