Thread: Newbie here
View Single Post
Old 09-07-2010, 05:03 PM   #1
2chihuahuas
YorkieTalk Newbie!

Animal Smiley 049 Newbie here

Hello everyone!

I have been lurking around for the last week reading posts and thought I had better introduce myself and my new puppy. I have an 11 week old female Yorkie named Thumper. She is the sweetest dog I have ever owned. As you see by my user name I have owned Chihuahuas previously and still have one, a 13 year old male named Taquito.

I lost my other Chi last December, we had to put him to sleep, that was the hardest thing I have ever had to do. I cried for weeks and it still brings tears to my eyes when I think about it. He was a Mamas boy totally. We named him Chimichanga and called him Chimi for short. The other dog bonded with my husband and so I was without a dog to cuddle for a long time before I found the Yorkie.

I really wanted another Chi but the breeder that I got both my Chi’s from moved away. I had always wanted a Yorkie but never had the opportunity before. I live in a very small town and don’t have much access to breeders. I just never wanted to buy a puppy over the internet. I guess the man I got Thumper from would be considered a “back yard breeder”.

I never knew that Yorkies had such big personalities, she is just fabulous. I have fallen in love with her completely and I am spoiling her rotten.

She is doing so well with potty training, I am so happy about that. She hardly ever has accidents and sleeps thru the night for 7 hours. Her previous owner told me that he started taking her outside with the parents quite early and got her used to using the grass for her potty.

I bought a Tell Bell yesterday on the Internet and I am hoping that she will be easy to train using that. Today I started training her to sit with treats, hopefully that will go well too.