View Single Post
Old 08-09-2010, 11:42 AM   #1
Pipers
Senior Yorkie Talker

Default Hi Everyone - New in the neighborhood

Hi,

I found this forum about a month ago and really like it. I find many people supportive and helpful with each other. Anyway, I've had pets all my life and presently we have 4 cats, 2 shetland sheepdogs, birds, and of course Piper my baby Yorkie! My kids are older now and I've always wanted a Yorkie since I was a kid, so now that I'm in my 40's it was about time!! Why did I wait so long, who knows?? Many things: working full time, had kids, bigger dogs just seem to do better when you're away from home hours at a time than a Yorkie would- there are a million reasons. Well I told my husband I wanted a Yorkie, and I would housebreak it, etc., it would be my baby. I figured the summer would be best I'm a pre-school teacher and off during the summer, so the housebreaking, separation anxiety, all the yorkie quirks would be dealt with accordingly. Well I didn't convey this to my husband, so during a cold November day - I worked and was 1 month away from finishing going to school one night a week - I come home at 10:00 at night and my daughter is holding an animal wrapped in her arms and all I can see is dark brown hair. I thought her dad bought her a hamster. She opened up her arms and said "say hello to Piper" (I also had her name picked out). It was a complete surprise and strategically planned by my husband. I was excited and knew at the same time I had my work cut out for me. Luckily I work part time, so during the day she's crated along with one of the shelties.
It took almost 18 months to fully potty train her, she just turned 2 earlier this month, once in a while she makes a mistake, but don't we all. She is the BEST thing for me: therapy, unconditional love, hours of entertainment! I would love to get another one, but maxed out right now, and she gets along with all her furry sisters and brother.