View Single Post
Old 03-22-2010, 07:42 AM   #5
Wylie's Mom
Furbutts = LOVE
Donating Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by judyabc View Post
Thank you so much for replying. I hope I'm doing this right. We go back to the vet tomorrow for all the numbers, so I'm jumping the gun. But I'm a researcher. I'm so afraid of the medicines. Can this have been triggered by our daughter moving back in with us and bringing her very energetic wire haired terrier? Because Lulu's symptoms started about 7 mos. ago, soon after they moved in with us. Lulu has the pot belly, extreme thirst, constant peeing(luckily she asked us to go out), begging for food all the time. I'm looking for a recipe for food that's good for treating cushings. Anyway, yesterday she has weakness in her back legs. That scared us the most. Also,she has these ulcerated bumps on her skin. They dry up eventually. She is just the sweetest little thing ever and this is confusing her, because she has always been so playful and now she is tired all the time. What about the Cushex drops I read about. Have you heard about that. I wouldn't do anything I didn't talk to the vet about first, but I was wondering.
I don't believe it was triggered by your daughters dog. Cushings is genetic or, can be "caused" if the dog has recently been on steroids - the steroid-mediated type is called Iatrogenic Cushings, and this type usually resolved once the med is D/C'd, if it can be, that is. Sadly, for us yorkie owners, Yorkies are now one of *the* most genetically vulnerable breeds for Cushings - and this is really awful, bc Cushings is a tough disease.