View Single Post
Old 11-17-2005, 07:03 PM   #1
Lexi's_Mommy
~GirlieGirls~
Donating Member

Cry My vet made me cry

I have so had it with my vets office.

First off this is the office that spayed Lexi and left an ovary in her. (different Dr. though) I have been battleing allergies for a couple months. Lexi has been on Benadryl and they wanted to put her on a steroroid, but I said not yet (to many horror stories). Well tonight I took Lexi back because she has chewed one of her little ninnies til it bled and I noticed some very tiny spots on her that almost looked like bites. This vet says I would like to do a skin scrape test on her and rule out any sort of mange. OK, will it hurt her and what is it? She said "I just scrape a small spot of skin and then test it, it will leave a small scratch" ok lets do it. She then starts scraping a spot on her chest and Lexi just laid there being so good, then let out a tiny whimper and there was blood all over the vets hand and she says (it's a kind deep scratch but she'll be fine. I started crying then when I saw the spot I really started crying it is bigger than a quarter. She didn't even clean it off, I had to ask for a clean damp rag. She comes back in the room and says the test came back neg. YEAH, nope she then tells me that some times you can do this test over and over and may possiably never get a positive and the dog still have something, and that she would still like to treat her for mange/parasites(sp). What did you do it for then? I also told her Lexi's hair and skin is really dry could she give me a moisturizing shampoo, and she said well I don't think we should treat her for several things at once because then we may never know what was wrong. I said wait a minute, we are giving her Benadryl, have her on a duck and potatoe diet, treating her for mange or other parasites, and you don't want to give me a shampoo that could relieve some of the itching? Now I'm angry. I told her look I am her every 2 weeks for you all to