View Single Post
Old 01-31-2010, 11:12 PM   #8
pancakepat
Senior Yorkie Talker

Ryoonc, As w/u I'm a new yorkie mom, too. So I'm still learning. I don't claim to know everything & I get confused reading about the yorkie. Had the same problem about food, too. Anyway, just wanted to re-enforce what already been said. Keep Nutri Cal on hand. Read up on "hypoglycemic". I understand this can happen to new babies. In time they should out grow the chances having hypoglycemic. Hypoglycemic, as best as I can understand, it's kind of like a dibetic. A puppies tummy is very small & they need to eat something every 3 hrs as mentioned in earlier post. In order to keep their sugar count up.
Concerning food. I use Wellness can food. What works for my yorkie is: I measure out an amount of wellness, then I add 1/2 of a boiled egg (w/o the yolk), add some tuna w/the juice. She loves it. Sometimes I'll sub eggs for green beans or steamed carrots. Baked chicken or turkey can be used in place of tuna. If I cook noodles, I'll save some back for her. You don't have to be a chef to cook for a yorkie. Just few things to keep in mind. When buying canned veg. get the unsalted & no fried foods. It's "really" not that confusing. Keep the food bland (no spices, salt, pepper, etc.) Yorkies won't know it nor will beagles as I have one.
And PLEASE remember, when you notice your baby isn't eating, its time to ACT. Hope you can stand one more suggestion. Start a savings account for your baby. Vet bills can get out of hand.
I read on this forum where one lady didn't have any money to take her yorkie to vet & the poor thing died in her arms. She wrote minute by minute on this forum as the poor thing was dying. I was so Mad. I have an account for my girl. As of today, I've saved $1200. Hope I never have to use it. Some moms suggest insurance.
I'll be thinking of you. Rule of thumb....Go with your gut instinct. If you think theres something wrong, there probably is.