View Single Post
Old 01-08-2010, 09:11 AM   #2
Mardelin
Mardelin Yorkshire Terriers
Donating Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceansoracle View Post
I am sure there were other threads posted on this subject matter. However, I have been on this site for a short time and I have been amazed at the names that Yorkie owners give to their babies. SO if you feel like sharing please do. Since I am relatively new to this site, and an extreme novice, please don't redirect to me other posts/threads about this because knowing me, I will get lost (Chuckle, Chuckle). I apologize beforehand for the LONG testimony and if you want you can scroll down

So, I will share how Hugo got his name. Years ago, I remember the first time I saw a Yorkie was in Pet CO in Manhattan. Knowing nothing about this breed or dogs for that matter, I thought it was the most amazing furball I ever saw-I was hooked. I did preliminary research to get one and learned how expensive they were. I was a college student back then, earning a meager wage. Soon after my encounter with that furbaby, I would see more of them. However, I only thought that this dog was for the upper class and manhattan socialites/fashionistas. I gave up hope. Not to mention as a young child I had a pekeineese chihuhua mixed dog named "Brownie" that was my loyal companion. Brownie was taken from me and I vowed that I will never love another dog again! I then began helping a friend of mine window merchanize stores in Manhattan wich led me to work behind the scenes in Fashion week. Once I saw the HUGO Boss brand I thought to myself if I ever get a Yorkie, I will name him Hugo. While working behind the scenes I saw some designers and models and execuitves in fashion walking with their pooches in designer purses. Some were chihuahuas and saw some yorkies. However, that was the first time I saw yorkies with long flowing hair with bows and cute outfits. When I met Hugo, I knew that he will be named Hugo because as strage as it sounds, it was