View Single Post
Old 03-23-2005, 09:43 AM   #4
yorkipower
BANNED!

Tongue Help is on its way

Hi, I'm new to yorkietalk and I'd like to know if you guys can help me out with something. My yorkie is going to be 3 years old in June. I've taken him to couple of training classes and he did very well. But the problem we've been having with lil' Zoey is that he barks excessively. Anyone that comes in the house or that is around my MOM he growls and barks.
At times he snaps and does try to bite. If my mother is holding him and anybody gets near him, he growls with a vengince

There’s a good chance that your efforts have left an indelible impression on your dog that visitors are a “bad thing.” Funny thing is, I have a similar problem with my rescue Yorkie and I have a good hunch that many of the training techniques you’ve described using on your own dog, were used on him (for example, it took me a long time to convince him that the click of a clicker was a good thing because he responded to loud noises by slinking out of the room with his tail down).

It’s unfortunate that when we humans respond to signs of aggression in our dogs, our first and natural reactions (like tightening up on a leash when our dog lunges) actually can exacerbate the situation: “hmm . . . mom is worried, I guess I was right that that big dog is trouble! I better growl at him some more!”