View Single Post
Old 09-20-2009, 10:03 AM   #6
kodabear
YorkieTalk Newbie!

My family and I had a similar experience with our dog Kodabear. About a week ago we thought we were going to lose him. He began with a fever, not eating or drinking, blood in his poop and dry heaving. We had to make a emergency trip to the Vet in the middle of the night. He was given fluids, antibiotics, de-wormer and sent home. We paid $500.00 in Vet bills for these treatments.

After about four days our dog seemed to be getting worse; he was weak and continued to not eat or drink. I should also mention Koda began hiding under the bed all day, which was abnormal. Finally, I called the Vet agian because our dog seemed to be getting worse. The Vet suggested I bring the dog back in, but I would have to pay another $100.00 plus any other services would be extra!

I should mention that I do not have this kind of money as I am a student and I had expected that my dog would be getting better after paying $500.00. I was extremely scared, frustrated and angry.

Another pet owner suggested to me that I bring our dog to a good Vet in the U.S. (I am in Canada, about an hour from the U.S. border). After speaking with this Vet she suggested that I bring my dog in A.S.A.P. and money was not an issue, whatever treatments needed to be done could be worked out into a payment plan if needed. When I arrived at this clinic I was treated honestly and not as $$$. The Vet suggested that Koda stay, as he was extremely weak and still running a fever. She said she did not know exactly what was wrong with him, but would try to get hime better. Finally, some honesty, and never once was I asked to pay money up front.

After a 2 night stay, our dog was finally well enough to come home. During Koda's stay at the pet hospital, the Vet put him on a I.V. and a new type of antibiotics. The Vet said our dog most likely had a G.I. infection or could have eaten something that made him sick.