Thread: you got spanked
View Single Post
Old 09-18-2009, 10:26 AM   #10
chachi
I Love My Yorkies
Donating Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by KelseyRose View Post
During my research about Yorkies, before I got Jo-jo, I noticed that almost all the dog philosophies I knew, that I used to train service dogs (labs) before, were different from Yorkie owner's philosophies. Much different. So when I finally got Josephine I tried to find a happy medium between both styles of training, but I tend to favor those ideals I used on my labs and to be honest it's worked fabulously. I'm telling you this because I know on Yorkietalk some of my philosophies aren't agreed with and I want you to keep that in mind when I give you my advice. I'm new to this whole Yorkie thing and while everything with my little Jo-jo has gone great all dogs are different and I don't know if my dog is the norm or not.

Anyways my first instinct is that the marking is a dominance behavior and since your is old enough you really should look into getting him neutered. If he hasn't been marking for a long time neutering could stop it all together, just as long as a habit hasn't been formed. Also new things brought into the home, like new furniature and guest's belongings can often cause dogs to mark so if possible take him up to the new object ask him to sit and give him a treat, play with him a little, let him investigate the new object, ect.