View Single Post
Old 06-14-2009, 03:41 AM   #1
WaterPKMNMaster
Yorkie Yakker

Default Is a Yorkie right for me?

I'm a college student right now and will be moving in to a 510 square feet dorm in mid-September, which I will be living in for about 2 years. The dorm will be a single (all to myself). I've been in a single for the past 2 years but get a little lonely sometimes, so I figured having a dog can keep me company and I can take good care of it and give it complete attention. I've been reading about Yorkies for the past two weeks and think it's the perfect breed for my situation, since the place I'm staying at only allows very small dogs and cats.

Note that I have never owned a dog before (though both my parents grew up with them). I have salt water fish which I started to keep last summer. People on some fish forum I went to hated that I was being "arrogant" in jumping into their field so quickly (a week after reading all about how to take care of fish and stuff), yet not a single fish has died and I consistently (almost obsessively) take care of them and their enviorment. I would do the same thing with any dog I got, despite the fact that I am inexperienced with owning one.

Questions (in no particular order)...

1. I know Yorkies can be yelpy, but are their barks loud enough for people walking by - outside of your apartment - to hear them? It's hard to tell from the videos on YouTube how loud they are.

2. Would the dog get stressed if it was consistantly living in two different places? On the weekends I always go home to my family, so the dog would be home for about 2.5 days each week and at my dorm the other 4.5.

3. How much do Yorkie puppies typically cost? I feel so uncomfortable looking for one to buy because the prices range anywhere from free, to $200, to $2000.

4. Does anyone know a good place to buy a Yorkie in SoCal, specifically within Orange County?