View Single Post
Old 06-01-2009, 12:03 PM   #8
addicted
IheartYorkies
Donating Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalina82 View Post
I bite back! LOL j/k

I've been working with dogs for a long time. I know their behavior and know what signs to look for. Before i went to grooming school i was a vet tech for years. I learned how to handle dogs very well in that atmosphere. The restraint is different in grooming because its you and your grooming table only. I've noticed the biggest problem with dogs biting is when you touch their feet. A lot of them hate having their nails trimmed, pads shaved, and feet trimmed. You have to learn to use your table. You can position the dogs on the tables so that they cannot reach you with their teeth. Extend the grooming arm up so that it is snug, but not choking the pet. Then move them as far back as possible on the table. You can pick up a back leg now and cut their nails without the fear that they can turn and bite you. When in this position they just can't reach you. With their front legs you want to bring the leg backward and slightly downward so your hands are out of reach. its trickier with the front legs and its more worrisome because your closer to their teeth.

Alot of the time the dog is testing you. They don't want to be groomed, but you know it needs to get done. You need to have the right attitude and give off the right vibe. If the dog knows your scared of it then he's gonna give you more trouble. WHen you pick up a leg and they try to bite and pull it away, you cannot let go. If you let go, they win and it only empowers them more. Hold onto their leg and talk to them. THey will calm down after a few seconds and then you can praise and continue. Sometimes when cutting nails, i'll clip one nail, then give the dog a little pat on the side to let them know its ok.