View Single Post
Old 01-27-2009, 08:11 PM   #5
LucyNTuckersMom
Senior Yorkie Talker

Ok, I'm no expert... and I don't know you or your household. But are you (or someone in your house) taking the job of alpha dog? I affectionately call it being The Hammer. So when she cries in the crate, you need to buck up and ignore her, rather than run over there and coddle her. Otherwise she is learning cry in my crate=mom comes running over. She may cry for a few nights, but eventually will get over it. It's tough to be The Hammer with a cute Yorkie puppy, but believe me... these can be pushy little dogs. You've got to establish that you're top dog and quick. Other things... when walking into a doorway, you walk first and the dog follows. Once you allow them to go first, they are thinking they are top dog. Eating food, you eat your food first, dogs get fed second. and don't share. In the wild, the head dog gets first pick of the eating. When she gets the hang of the leash... keep her at your side rather than letting her walk miles in front. Otherwise she thinks shes leader of the pack.

Have you tried covering the crate at night? Something that helped when our dogs were little, we kept the crate in the bedroom. It seemed comforting that they could smell us/knew we were there and so they didn't cry. (Except for the first 3 nights when we got them)
Learning to come when called, walk on leash are all things that take patience, and age and getting to know you and your husband. Keep your practice sessions short at her age. Reward like crazy, a treat is good but gush with praise too. Also, if they fill up on treats, they won't eat their food. Our vet tech recommended baby carrots, but cut them up. No more than a baby carrot or 2 a day.
Puppies' feel its their job to play play play. Don't feel offended. Ours got more affectionate as they matured. Then the play time went down too.