View Single Post
Old 01-11-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
QuickSilver
Thor's Human
Donating Member

Lightbulb Thor might be a smartie after all!

I just wanted to share my progress with Thor. As I've mentioned before, he used to belong to a coworker of mine, so I have been walking him and teaching him tricks for maybe six months now, but he's only lived with me for one.

I'd gotten the impression that Thor was possibly not the sharpest tool in the shed. He does not appear to know that different words mean different things, for instance. When I say "sit" or "down" or "touch" with an accompanying hand gesture, he just rotates through all three until he gets a treat.

I also got him a small treat ball to keep him occupied, and he couldn't figure out how to use it. He could smell the treats in there and he would get really excited when I picked it up, but he wouldn't actually roll the ball. I tried placing the ball hole down with treats ready to fall out if he nudges it with his nose, and also trained him to "touch" the ball. Hours of practice time later, he still has no idea that he could actually roll the ball on his own and serve himself up some treats.

Anyway, I have actually been having some really good experiences with him too, and I'm so excited! First, he's got a very firm grasp on the concept of "fetch" now. For the longest time, he would run after the toy, and then expect you to run after him, with the toy. Then a few months ago he started dropping the toy in my general vicinity every so often. This weekend, he started dropping the ball into my hand. It's so cool!