View Single Post
Old 12-15-2008, 09:13 PM   #5
MeAndMyOlivia
YT Addict

Hi Shelly, bless you for looking at a rescue! I have rescued 3 furbabies, all through petfinder. Toby, my first, was my wonderful schnauzer-mix boy; he died in Sept. I just got my 3rd rescue yesterday, a little 5 yr old boy yorkie - yet to be named. I rescued Olivia, my sweet girl yorkie, 2 months ago...she is 8 yrs old and is a retired breeder. She too has lost several teeth due to lack of care. But it doesn't keep her from scarfing down her treats! LOL

I am by no means an expert - I am sure you will get lots of good advice from others on here. All 3 have been totally different experiences and different challenges, but I think the common requirement on my part was PATIENCE. Some of these little babies have been through untold horrors, neglected, abused, frightened and learning to trust again is huge for them. My first rescue Toby was extremely afraid of everyone and everything except me and never did learn to trust anyone else. He was terrible at the groomer, but my goodness he was my baby and I still miss him. He was very treat-oriented, so I used lots of treats when training him. It took a while for housetraining and obedience training, but with consistency (and treats!) he did finally catch on.