View Single Post
Old 04-28-2008, 07:34 AM   #4
Misti1
Donating YT 500 Club Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetpotatoe View Post
Hello fellow Yorkie owners,

I'm happy to be a new member of this online community! I have a ten month-old Yorkie named Cricket, and he weighs four pounds. The vet told me last week that this is as big as he's going to get, so he's a tiny fellow. I've never had a dog before, and Cricket teaches me new things every day. Also, since I'm a freelance writer from home, Cricket is my constant companion.

I recently had a debate with my husband over Cricket, and I was wondering if some of you could weigh in. One of my favorite books is "I Like You" by Amy Sedaris, a wacky entertaining guide. Sedaris explains that she has a pet rabbit, and whenever she entertains, she tries to sell her old junk for a quarter to guests on behalf of the rabbit, who she claims must earn his keep somehow.

I've considered doing something similar for Cricket, but since I don't want to hock my junk to friends while they visit, my solution for Cricket earning his keep is via Halloween.

I LOVE Halloween, and one of the major downsides of being an adult is that it's inappropriate to trick-or-treat without a child, and even then you probably won't get candy--the kid gets it.

I don't have a child, and it will likely be years before I get one. So I want to take Cricket trick-or-treating so he can earn his keep.

My husband is dead against this--he hates dog outfits, and he thinks it would be weird if I took the dog out like he was a child. But this is the only way I can think of that Cricket could bring in the bread (or, in this example, sugar).

What do you all think? Do you take your pups trick-or-treating? Do they wear costumes?

And where in the world can I find a costume that will fit a four-pound dog?

Cheers,

Sweet Potatoe Punk
Excellent opportunity for you guys to break to halloween pics back out, and welcome to YT Cricket and Mom.
Not Registered?