View Single Post
Old 06-03-2014, 06:31 PM   #1
Britster
Action Jackson ♥
Donating Member

Default A Look at Orijen food

Very insightful article. Explains the different nutrient levels and how a food can LOOK very great but isn't necessarily.

A Look at Orijen Adult Food, or Why I Should Stop Making Rules If I’m Just Going to Break Them |

Quote:
A Look at Orijen Adult Food, or Why I Should Stop Making Rules If I’m Just Going to Break Them

Disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist of any kind, human or canine. I’ve been feeding a home made diet for eleven years, and became interested in the actual nutritional content of foods after seeing signs of nutrient deficiency in my dogs, both obvious (toenails falling off), and not so obvious (dry nose. Both of those were zinc deficiency, btw.) I don’t belong to any particular sect of the Church of Dogfood, and I don’t believe in the One True Diet ™. I feel each dog should be fed according to it’s needs, and a dog’s needs do not necessarily match up with the psychological needs of the human who feeds it.

I consider Pubmed to be recreational reading; that should tell you something about my dog food philosophy. I feel that choosing a food for your dog should be based on the type of food the dog needs for health conditions or stage of life (if applicable), cost, whether the dog does well on the food and will eat it, and nutrition. Choosing a food should be done with the head, not with the heart. This is why I rarely participate in dog food related discussions.

It’s been a long time since I’ve fed kibbles, and the last time I looked, I was rather appalled at the way kibbles are marketed. This food is no different and that, in part, is what prompted me to take a look at the entire food in question, not just the mineral content.