View Single Post
Old 12-03-2013, 05:15 AM   #11
Wylie's Mom
Furbutts = LOVE
Donating Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovetodream88 View Post
I just read a small article in Modern dog magazine that said neutered males are living 18% longer then non neutered males and spayed females are living 24% longer then non spayed females. Just thought I would share.
In my opinion as a nurse, I would think that actually - the opposite would be true. The reason for this is bc hormones play an UNBELIEVABLY important part in the way our bodies function -- and we are essentially robbing our animals of important hormones. Stats taken out of context rarely are as good as they appear.

Remember, the real reason there is such a push for spaying/neutering is not really for the health of the animal, but more bc of over population. If health of the animal were paramount, we wouldn't see S/N as often as we do. And yes, while spaying female dogs can help avoid certain cancers, it's still not the real reason to spay -- unless you also believe that we human females should spay ourselves in order to avoid cancers...!!!??? It's the same concept.

Quote:
Originally Posted by impish View Post
Sorry but not so fast. Please post the article. And yes the statistics at first glance make it seem like it's a no brainer. But there are a lot of other factors to consider. It's really not so cut and dried:

Snipped from here: Benefits and Risks of Neutering, An Evidence Update: Effects of Neutering on Longevity and Cause of Death in Dogs | The SkeptVet Blog